Arbroath Town Board Terms of Reference



General objectives

Our objective will be to utilise the 'Long-term plan for towns £20 million funding to positively transform Arbroath. Every resident is a stakeholder in this project and will have the opportunity to contribute and be involved, in Arbroath's successful transformation.

Through collaborative partnerships with businesses, local organisations, and residents, we will create a sustainable, inclusive, and prosperous town. By enhancing Arbroath's many inherent strengths, along with strategic investment in new facilities and infrastructure, we aim to position our town as a leading destination on Scotland's east coast.

Specific objectives

- Ensure all government policies and funding deadlines are achieved.
- Initiate and manage community engagement and consultation. Create diverse forms of engagement across a wide spectrum of the local community to ensure as many residents as possible, community groups and businesses have had the opportunity to contribute to the evolving vision and investment plans for Arbroath.
- Coordinate, develop and define Arbroath's 10-year vision and the 3 year and ultimately the 10 year investment strategy for Arbroath.
- Oversee the delivery of the long-term funding for the governments three broad investment themes.
 - 1. Safety and Security
 - 2. High Streets, Heritage and Regeneration.
 - 3. Transport and Connectivity
 - The board will also endeavour to secure additional funding for Arbroath to create further investment opportunities for Arbroath.

Membership and responsibilities of board membership

Membership of the Arbroath Town Board.

- 1. Chair Peter Stirling. Farming and property development
- 2. Vice chair Brian Masson. International improvement consultant
- 3. Vice chair Nevada Mitchell, Restaurants and bars
- 4. John Steel Holiday lets
- 5. Brian Cargill Vice chair Arbroath F.C.
- 6. Lucy Byatt Director Hospital field
- 7. Fiona Doran Chair Community Council
- 8. Victor West CEO Associated Seafoods
- 9. Jade Mitchell Designer and beach café owner
- 10. Barry Sellars Vice chair Community Trust
- 11.Alex Smith Chair Improvement Trust / board member Harbour Committee
- 12.Lois Speed Angus Councillor
- 13. Jack Cruickshank Angus Councillor
- 14. Ross Fitzgerald Area Commander for Angus, Police Scotland
- 15. Stephen Gethins M.P for Arbroath and Broughty Ferry
- 16. Simon Hewitt Principal Dundee & Angus College

Arbroath Town Board assistants

- 1. Board Secretariate Susan Spink Community Trust trustee
- 2. Deputy board secretariate Jill Rennie Community Trust treasurer
- 3. Angus Council assistant to the board Ines Tribel
- 4. Communications manager Katie Webster

All board members have agreed to and will adhere to the Arbroath Town Board's Code of Conduct and Conflict of Interest policies.

All board members will endeavour to attend every board meeting and have read and consider the associated board meeting papers ahead of the meeting.

All board members will endeavour to provide as much notice as possible if they are going to be absent from a board meeting to allow the chair the opportunity to invite a guest from a focus group.

Board Member Terms

- 1. In line with UK Politian's the maximum term will be 5 years, then reelection by public vote, if the member wants to continue. The public could replace the entire board and still have half the funding program remaining.
- 2. Board members who were automatically selected for the board due to their public body role but consequently lose that position during the 5 year term period, will automatically lose their seat on the board at that point. However, they will have the ability to retain an interest in the project by joining a focus group which may be established at that time.
- 3. Any board member retiring before 5 years may be replaced by the chair and Angus Council.

Arbroath Town Board meetings

- 1. The board will meet monthly, lasting approx. 2hrs and meeting dates will be organised by the chair in advance who will try and find dates which suit most members.
- 2. If absent board members provide sufficient notice they will be given the opportunity to send a vote if required or provide a proxy vote for the chair or another board member to vote on their behalf.
- 3. The board quorum will be 50% of board members, to enable a valid vote. A majority vote will carry the motion, a tied vote (or less) the motion will fail. The chair will only vote if the vote will make a difference, either to carry or fail the motion.
- 4. Board papers will be sent out to each board member at least 5 days in advance of the meeting and published on the town board's Our Arbroath website.
- 5. These will include, the meeting agenda and any associated board papers relating to agenda points.
- 6. Any emergency board meetings called by the chair should endeavour to provide 7 days' notice and board papers / agenda sent out at least 3 days prior to meeting.

- 7. No agenda AOB item can involve a major board decision or vote. The matter will instead be placed on the agenda for the next meeting.
- 8. If the chair cannot make an arranged meeting, one of the vice chairs will chair the meeting.
- 9. If the board secretariate cannot make a meeting the deputy secretariate will attend.
- 10. Minutes will summarise the position reached for each agenda point and will also provide the result of any vote but not identify voters.
- 11. Board minutes will also record any conflicts of interest reported and actions taken.
- 12. Draft board minutes will be sent to board members for comments within 7 days of each meeting. Finalised minutes will be agreed, at the following board meeting and will be posted on the website, within 7 days.
- 13. Where possible all public communications should be via the board appointed communications manager, currently Katie Webster or the chair.